Ringo Starr
Ringo Starr News

Announcing the Winner of the Music Video Competition for ‘Wings’ the First Single From the Latest Release ‘Ringo 2012′

Today Ringo announced the winner of the competition to make the official music video for “Wings,” the first single from his current CD, Ringo 2012 (Hip-O/Ume). The contest was launched in January with Genero.tv, giving filmmakers the opportunity to put their work directly in front of one of the world’s most influential artists and Universal Music Enterprises, one of the industry’s leading record labels.

Ringo said, “I want to congratulate everyone who participated in the Wings video contest. There were so many good one’s it was really hard to choose but in the end you have to choose just one so in this competition the winner is Jem Gerard. What a great little video that was for Wings, my song on my CD,” Ringo also gave a shout out to a few others whose video’s were also really great including, “Menelaos Pab, Chris Martin and Jake Hanne, they were good too.”

Ringo’s new album, titled simply Ringo 2012 and produced by Ringo, was recorded in Los Angeles and mixed in England by Ringo and Bruce Sugar. Ringo 2012 is his second album on Hip-O/UMe, and was released on January 31 in the United States and January 30 Internationally. Of the 9 tracks, two are covers, “Think It Over” and “Rock Island Line,” and two are new versions of his own songs, “Wings” and “Step Lightly.”

Ringo and his All Starr Band can be seen on tour this summer, which launches June 15, 2012 from Fallsview Casino in Niagara Falls, Ontario, continuing on with stops in New York, Atlanta, and Nashville, where Starr will celebrate his birthday with Peace & Love on July 7. The tour concludes on July 21, 2012 at the Greek in Los Angeles, CA.

See the runners-up videos on Genero.TV.

Less than 3 weeks to go people! I’ve partnered with @Genero to give you the chance to make the official video for my new single, Wings from RINGO 2012. I’m leaving it open for you to interpret so let your creative juices flow! I’m picking the winner and you’ll get $3000. Entries close Mar 7. Details here.

Pick it up: On iTunes | In the Official Ringo Starr Store | Amazon (UK) | Amazon (US)

Ringo Starr’s 17th solo studio record, and his second on Hip-O/Ume is now available!

Titled simply “Ringo 2012” and produced by Ringo, it was recorded in LA and mixed in England by Ringo and Bruce Sugar, and features 9 songs.

Of the 9 tracks two are covers, “Think It Over,” and “Rock Island Line” and two are new versions of his own songs, “Wings” and “Step Lightly.”

The track listing is as follows:

1. Anthem (Richard Starkey/Glen Ballard)
2. Wings (Richard Starkey/Vince Poncia)
3. Think It Over (Buddy Holly/Norman Perry)
4. Samba (Richard Starkey/Van Dyke Parks)
5. Rock Island Line (Arrangement by Richard Starkey)
6. Step Lightly (Richard Starkey)
7. Wonderful (Richard Starkey/Gary Nicholson)
8. In Liverpool (Richard Starkey/Dave Stewart)
9. Slow Down (Richard Starkey/Joe Walsh)

Joining Ringo in the studio for Ringo 2012 were musicians (in alphabetical order): Michael Bradford, Ann Marie Calhoun, Matt Cartsonis, Steve Dudas, Charlie Haden, Amy Keys, Kelly Moneymaker, Richard Page, Van Dyke parks, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dave Stewart, Bruce Sugar, Benmont Tench, Joe Walsh , Don Was, Edgar Winter.

“Ringo 2012” available digitally, on CD and vinyl.